Oatmeal-Molasses Bread

Growing up, one of my favorite breads was one that my great-aunt Gladys made.  It was a dark bread that was made with molasses and that’s about all I know about how she made it.  The only other thing I know it that it was good!  I’ve yet to come up with a recipe even close to her bread, but this is good in it’s own way.  Maybe one of these days I’ll come up with something that tastes almost as good as hers, but I doubt it.  I think that she made it with ingredients other than those than can be bought in a store. ♥

I use my bread machine for this recipe, but let me clarify that statement. I only use my bread machine to knead the dough and let it go through it’s first rise, I never let it bake in there. I’ve never cared for bread baked in bread machines. I use the “dough” cycle only.

Here is my recipe for Oatmeal-Molasses Bread:

Yield:  2 average sized loaves

3/4 cup Old-Fashioned Oats
2 Tbsp. Butter or Margarine
1/4 cup Molasses
5 Tbsp. Brown Sugar
1 tsp. Salt
1 & 3/4 cup boiling water

Add the above ingredients to the bread machine in the order listed.  After pouring  in the boiling water, stir gently with wooden spoon to mix the ingredients.

Let sit for 1/2 hour to cool the water down.

Then add:

1 Egg (beaten)
4 cups Flour
3 tsp. Yeast (I use Rapid-Rise)

Select the “dough” cycle on your bread machine.  When dough cycle is complete, usually over an hour (it has kneaded and risen), remove from pan and squeeze all the air out of it.  Divide in half, shape into loaves and place in greased pans.  Cover with a barely damp, lightweight towel and place in a warm, draft-free area to rise to double in size.  Bake @ 400° for 35-45 minutes, or until a dark, golden brown.

*Note:  I always peek in the machine a couple of minutes after I start it to see if it needs a few more drops of water or a little bit more flour.  Use your best judgement on this part.  If you like, you may add 1 Tbsp. Wheat Gluten before adding the yeast.  I like using this, as it makes a softer, better textured loaf that stays fresher a bit longer.

Until next time…

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oatmeal-Molasses Bread

  1. lobotero says:

    Nothing smells better than bread baking! I will try this one soon….thanx

  2. You’re right, something about that smell says “comfort”!

  3. indiedyer says:

    Very intriguing, I love making up new bread recipes, too! The addition of sugar, butter and egg to your loaf make it sound ideal for afternoon tea. I might try it, but probably not use egg and sugar, and instead add more water and a smidgen of gluten flour. And I would double the salt and let it rise overnight in the cold to make it less crumbly. Will let you know how it turns out when I make it – probably tomorrow (we still have bread I baked Saturday :-).

  4. I love new recipes too, which is why I’ve been experimenting with the oatmeal breads. The picture in the post isn’t of my actual loaf, it’s one that was ‘recommended” by something in my “dashboard”. I wish I had taken a picture the last time I made it, although the next time I will and I’ll be replacing the one shown. Even with the sugar and egg, it’s not crumbly in the least actually. I love it toasted or just sliced, it’s good either way. I like a crusty bread, which this also. Let me know how yours turns out, I’ll be interested to know. I just wanted to let you know that this in no way comes out like a banana bread, etc texture, although the picture makes it look that way. Thanks for your visit and I look forward to your results!

  5. Pingback: Oatmeal, Whole Wheat & Molasses Bread | MaineGreenGirl

Leave a Reply

