A Bowl of “Garden Produce” Soup!

I just love a good bowl of soup!  When the days are cool and crisp as they are now, I find a bowl of soup to be comforting.  In addition to the feeling of comfort though, with the soup I made the other day there was also a feeling of accomplishment.  This soup was almost all made with ingredients that we grew in our home garden.  So, not only did it taste good because it was good, it tasted good because all our hard work had helped to make it.


From our garden into the soup:  Carrots, Green Beans, Peas, Onions, Tomatoes and the Green onion tops.  The only other things in there that didn’t come from the garden was the meat, spices and potatoes.  Living in the heart of Maine potato country, you’d think I’d grow my own, right?!?
Next year, we plan on trying a few new things in the garden.  Herbs and spices will be something new, although I need to do some research on what will grow in our area of the country, since it’s a short growing season.
Until next time…

This entry was posted in Cooking, Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Bowl of “Garden Produce” Soup!

  1. indiedyer says:

    YU-HUM! Thanks for your reply re bread – will keep you posted. Re spices: This is where I found invaluable tips for growing my own caraway (which I loooove!): http://www.spicesherpa.com/2011/05/11/how-to-grow-your-own-spices-caraway-seeds/

  2. You’re welcome – I just figured you’d want to know it wasn’t really a “breakfast” or “sweet” bread, although I know it might seem that way with using both molasses and brown sugar. It was wonderful for sandwiches, too. Oh and I add egg to all my breads (even white breads) because they help with rising, add richness and produce a softer texture, too. I just started adding egg to my doughs a few years ago and love what it does for them.

    Thanks so much for the link about spices, I’ll check it out for sure! I can always use help in the growing department, especially with things I don’t know anything about, lol.

    Have a great night!

  3. ktandj04730 says:

    Your soup looks soup-er yummy, Marie!!

  4. Marti says:

    Looks super-delish!!

Leave a Reply

