Donut (don’t it) Make You Hungry?

I don’t know what I’ve got myself into…  all because of the segment on the local news!  We have a segment called “Eats, Treats and Sweets” and a week or so ago they mentioned pumpkin muffins and donuts.  Well, hubby and I thought that anything pumpkin sounded good, but that pumpkin donuts sounded scrumptious!

I scoured the internet for a pumpkin donut recipe and let me tell you, there are a lot out there.  I’m sure most of them are wonderful… but I had to make a decision based on knowing nothing about making pumpkin donuts.  The only ones I ever ate were at a donut shop.  I found the one I used at Epicurious.  It’s called “Pumpkin Doughnuts with Powdered Sugar
 Glaze and Spiced Sugar Doughnut Holes“.  The recipe is quite involved, but I took the time to make them and I’m glad I did, they were worth the effort.  I did change a few things, such as I only made half of the sugar mixture for rolling the finished donuts in (and I still had some left over) and I made a glaze with powdered sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla and a little milk to drizzle over some of them.

This is how they turned out:

After those were gone, I thought “bismarcks” might be good.  I don’t know what possessed me to make more fattening food, I just wanted to!  Then I thought about all the strawberry preserves and raspberry jam in the cellar and the idea was cemented in my brain “I must make Raspberry Jam and Vanilla Cream filled donuts”  So I scoured the internet yet again for a recipe for donuts… raised, filled donuts.  I had to choose the one from Erin Cooks called “Raised Doughnuts: Raising the Roof“.  The reason I chose this one over all the others is because of the cute and funny story she posted about her and her mom making them together and they were in Maine and I’m in Maine, so I had to choose that one!  Not only that, but it sounded like Erin and her Mom had a lot of fun making them… and all I can say to you two is “no, I didn’t dare to just throw all ingredients into my bread machine“, lol!  I did have fun making these donuts, maybe not as much fun as Erin had, since my Mom is in southern Maine and I’m up north, but fun even so.  Thanks Erin (and Erin’s Mom) you girls gave me a great recipe!

This is how they looked when done:

The recipe I used for filling them was a vanilla cream filling found at  CDkitchen, from a donut recipe called “Dunken Doughnuts Vanilla Filled Doughnuts“.  I liked the taste and texture of it, and proceeded to mix it with some homemade raspberry jam – can we say “yummy”?   I liked squirting the mixture of those two things into the donuts, the only drawback being that I couldn’t tell how much was going into them.  I had to run across the road at one point and borrow my neighbor Cathy’s rolling pin and cake decorating set, I don’t know where mine is but that’s a post for another time!  Thanks Cathy – I couldn’t have done it without you (and your rolling pin… and your decorating set…)!

After making many more raised, filled donuts than what you see above, I finished by making some regular shaped donuts with what was left of the dough.  I made a little bit of chocolate glaze to go on the top of them.

This is what the Chocolate Glazed Donuts looked like:

All this tastes great, but there seems to be a problem.  There are only two of us here and hubby insists that he can only eat so many donuts –  imagine that!?!  So, I think I’ll be testing them to see how well they freeze, since that is what I’ll have to do or else we’ll both weigh 300 lbs before they’re gone!

I hope you’ve enjoyed a trip to my donut shop, I mean my kitchen!

Until next time…

This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Donut (don’t it) Make You Hungry?

  1. ktandj04730 says:

    They look delicious, Marie!!! Where’s mine???? 🙂

  2. Well you know what, Tammy? IF you came to visit me, I might be persuaded to make some fresh ones just for you and your hubby! LOL – it would be great to see you, though! I just thought the “freshly made donuts” routine might get you here a bit sooner!! 😉

  3. Marti says:

    I love anything pumpkin too! Anything pumpkin to eat and anything pumpkin to decorate with! LOL Looks so yummy!!

  4. yep, pumpkin.. apple, anything with those two and I’m good to go! Thanks so much for visiting my blog – I’m still new but I’m keeping at it and I have so much I want to write about. Hope you come back and visit again soon!

Leave a Reply

